New Zealand bans travel from 9 southern African countries

A Radio NZ article.

New Zealand is banning travel from nine southern African countries from tomorrow night in an effort to curb the potential spread of the new Omicron coronavirus variant.

The World Health Organisation yesterday declared the new coronavirus variant to be “of concern” after it originated in South Africa.

Covid-19 Response Minister Chris Hipkins said from 11.59pm tomorrow, only New Zealand citizens will be allowed to travel here.

They will also be required to stay in managed isolation for a full 14 day period and undergo testing.

People already in transit will also need to go into MIQ.

The countries are: South Africa, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Lesotho, Eswatini, Seychelles, Malawi and Mozambique.

Read more.